Elected from Tripura, Biplab takes oath in Rajya Sabha

Enewstime News Images

Agartala, Sep 28, 2022, ENEWSTIME Desk

Tripura-Rajya-Sabha-Biplab-OathBiplab Kumar Deb has taken oath as the Rajya Sabha member from Tripura on Wednesday (September 28).


Vice President and Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, Jagdeep Dhankar administered Deb oath as the member of the Upper House in the Parliament on Wednesday at noon. Deb's wife Niti Deb and son Aryan were among the others who attended the oath-taking ceremony.


Deb, former Chief Minister of Tripura, was recently elected to the Upper House. 


The election to the lone Upper House seat was held on September 22, 2022 and immediately after the polling, the result was declared by the Election Commission officials.


Deb got 43 (BJP's 36 and IPFT's 7) votes while Saha secured 15 votes while Congress' lone MLA and former BJP minister Sudip Roy Barman abstained from the voting.


enewstime-Tripura-Rajya-Sabha-Biplab-OathBJP's ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) MLA Brishaketu Debbarma did not cast his vote on Thursday as he resigned from the Assembly in June last year and joined the TIPRA (Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance) headed by Tripura's royal scion, Pradyot Bikram Manikya Deb Barman.


After his election, Deb, 51, expressing his gratitude to the Central leadership, tweeted: "Gratitude to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura for electing me as a Rajya Sabha MP. Gratitude to PM Narendra Modi, BJP President J.P. Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah for giving me this opportunity to represent Tripura in Rajya Sabha."


Biplab Kumar Deb, after taking oath today as a Rajya Sabha member, went to the BJP parliamentary office in the Parliament and met the workers who were present there and inquired about their well-being.


“Meeting friends in BJP's parliamentary office brought back old memories”, he wrote in a social media post.


After his swearing-in, Deb wrote on his social media said, “With the blessings of Mata Tripurasundari, honoured to take oath as a Member of Parliament of Rajya Sabha.


Gratitude to PM Shri Narendra Modi Ji, BJP President Shri J.P.Nadda Ji, HM Shri Amit Shah Ji & senior leadership for giving the opportunity to represent my State.


With everyone's support and collective efforts, I will work earnestly for the welfare and development of Tripura”.