Election Commission announces dates for assembly elections in five states

ProMASS: Jan 04, 2017: The Election Commission today announced the dates for the assembly elections in five states– Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa. Uttar Pradesh, the biggest state in the country, will go to polls in seven phases for 403 seats on 11th February, 15th February, 19th February, 23rd February, 27th February, 4th March and on 8th March.

Manipur will go to polls for 60 seats in two phases on 4th and 8th March. There will be single phase elections in Uttarakhand, Goa and Punjab. Goa and Punjab will go to polls on February 4th while polling in Uttarakhand for 70 seats will be held on 15th February. Counting of votes for all five states will take place on 11th March. Announcing the poll dates Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said, over 16 crore voters are eligible to vote in the five states. With the Election Commission announcement the Model code of conduct has come into effect from today.

Replying to a question, Mr Zaidi said, Commission is examining representation of some political parties on presentation of Union Budget during poll process. He said, the Commission will take a view soon. On Supreme Court’s decision on Hindutva case, Mr Zaidi said, EC is committed to abide by the apex court’s order and it will be implemented effectively. Replying to another question, he said, any query on freezing of Samajwadi Party poll symbol is hypothetical right now and the documents have to be examined first.


Courtesy: AIR NEWS

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Most Popular



More Posts
To Top