13th Tripura Legislative Assembly: 44 MLAs including CM take oath

Enewstime News Images

Agartala, Mar 16, 2023, ENEWSTIME Desk

The oath taking process for the elected members of 60-seat 13th Tripura Legislative Assembly started today. Total 44 MLAs along with Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha took oath on Thursday (Mar 16).

Among the newly elected 44 MLAs, 31 MLAs belong to the ruling BJP-IPFT alliance (including the Chief Minister), Two MLAs of Congress and 11 MLAs of CPIM also took oath today.

On Friday, 13 MLAs of the TIPRA Motha and remaining one Congress MLA will take oath taking total to 59.

One of the members of the BJP, Union MoS Pratima Bhowmik resigned from MLAship on Wednesday (March 15) and BJP's Binoy Bhusan Das already took an oath as the Protem Speaker.

Protem Speaker Binoy Bhusan Das administered the oath of office to the MLAs in the House.

Congress leader Sudip Roy Barman, who has been elected as MLA from 6- Agartala constituency, was supposed to take oath on Thursday but he skipped the swearing-in ceremony and expected to swear in tomorrow.

All the BJP MLAs except three read out oath in Bengali. Rampada Jamatia, Biswabandhu Sen and Pramod Reang took oath in English while lone IPFT MLA Shukla Charan Noatia took oath in Kokborok (Local language of Indigenous people).

Later, all of the 11 CPIM MLAs including CPIM State party secretary Jitendra Chaudhury were sworn in the office chamber of the Protem Speaker today.

Elections to the 13th Tripura Legislative Assembly were held in the State on February 16 last to elect all 60 members of the Tripura Legislative Assembly. The votes were counted and the results were declared on March 2 March.

The BJP-IPFT alliance secured victory in 33 out of 60 seats. Union MoS Pratima Bhowmik who won from the Dhanpur constituency resigned from MLAship on Wednesday reducing BJP-IPFT alliance strength to 32 – two more than the halfway mark in 60-seat Assembly.

In the election TIPRA Motha emerged as the second largest party 13 seats in its kitty. Left Front led by CPIM relegated to the third position with 11 seats while Congress secured victory in three seats.  

After the oath taking ceremony, Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha chaired a meeting with the BJP MLAs at his office in the Assembly to discuss about strategies for the upcoming Assembly session.