Attack on Tripura PCC chief, CPIM MP: Police arrest 5 persons

Agartala, Jan 19, 2021, ENEWSTIME Desk

Tripura Police arrested five persons related to the recent attacks on Tripura PCC president Pijush Kanti Biswas and CPIM MP Jharna Das Baidya on Sunday (January 17 last).

Both the attacks committed on January 17 triggered wide condemnations and Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb asked police to take stern actions against the perpetrators of the crime.

Police said three persons -Jamal Hussain, Sarif Mia and Kumarjit Saha were arrested from several parts of Bishalgarh under Sepahijala district in Tripura for the assault on Biswas.

However, there were allegations from locals that at least one of them was not involved in the incident as he had been ill for the last few days.

Notably, Biswas was attacked and his car was vandalized at Bishalgarh on Sunday last. Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb talked to Biswas over Phone and assured Police actions against the miscreants. However, protesting against the attack, Congress called a dawn-to-dusk strike in Tripura on January 18 last.

In the meantime Amtali police arrested Tanmay Saha and Nandan Acharjee – both from Amtali areas in West Tripura District - for the attack on the CPIM MP Jharna Das Baidya’s residence on January 17 last.

Reacting sharply, CPIM met Tripura Governor Ramesh Bais on January 18 and appealed him to intervene and stop the attacks on Opposition Party workers. Moreover, alleging Police inaction, CPIM today held a demonstration in front of Tripura Police Headquarters on Tuesday.