Enewstime News Images
Tripura News Briefcase

Tripura: 13 TMP MLAs and Sudip take oath, Pradyot forms team to assess party's poll performance

The regional party of Tripura, TIPRA Motha Party (TMP) constituted a five-member committee to assess the performance of the party in the State Assembly Polls.

The election to 60-seat Tripura Legislative Assembly was held on February 16 last and results were announced on March 2 last.  While BJP-IPFT alliance attained simple majority with 33 seats, TMP emerged as the second largest party with 13 seats followed by 11 seats of CPIM and three seats of Congress.

After BJP, IPFT CPIM and two MLAs of Congress took oath on Thursday (March 16), all the 13 MLAs of TMP and remaining Congress MLA -Sudip Roy Barman - took oath on Friday (Mar 17).

Prior to the swearing-in ceremony over, chairman of TMP, Pradyot Kishore Debbarma held a meeting with the MLAs and discussed the several pertinent issues with them.

After the oath taking event was over, Debbarma formed a team consisting of five members to look into the party’s performance in the Assembly Polls.

Informing about the formation of the team, Pradyot Kishore Debbarma took to the Facebook and wrote, “I have appointed a five member team to evaluate our performance in the recent Assembly elections and submit a report within two months on how we can improve even more in the future as a party. They will be meeting candidates, workers and people at large and try to find out our strengths and weaknesses so that we can make our party stronger”.

The five members are BK Hrangkhawl, Jagadish Debbarma, Mever Kr Jamatia, Rajeswar Debbarma and Budhu Debbarma.

The Left Front and Congress drew a seat sharing arrangement and urged the TMP also to join the arrangement. However, TMP decided to go solo in the polls. According to the CPIM and Congress leaders, TMP’s decision to fight the poll alone led to division of votes and benefitted the BJP in retaining power. BJP vehemently denied this claim, so also TMP.

You can share this post!