Tripura CM hails role of engineers in development on 53rd Engineers Day

Agartala, Sep 15, 2020, ENEWSTIME Desk

Engineers play crucial role in developing infrastructure of the State. Efficacy of engineers is helping implementing State and Central Government’s welfare schemes and benefitting the people of the State. Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb said this at a programme held to observe 53rd Engineers Day in Agartala on Tuesday.

Notably, Engineers’ Day is observed on September 15 in India every year to commemorate birth anniversary of eminent Engineer of the Country Bharat Ratna M Visvesvaraya. The 53rd  Engineers Day was held to commemorate 159th Birth Anniversary of M Visvesvaraya.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister said engineers have crucial roles to play for timely and efficient implementation of Smart City scheme in Agartala. He also highlighted several steps taken by the incumbent BJP-IPFT government for betterment of engineers.

He also hailed the engineers for running Tech-dependent Integrated Command Control Centre to flush out overflowing drain water within a short time. “This Control center has brought a relief to people Banamalipur as accumulated drain water during heavy rains gets pumped out promptly”.     

The 53rd Engineers Day was observed at North Tripura District Head Quarter Dharmanagar by maintaining social distancing and wearing mask today. Engineers Animesh Das, Abhijit Deb, Siddhartha Deb, Suhas Chakraborty and other engineers were present on the occasion.

As part of the observance of the Day, engineers distributed Face Shields, masks and sanitizers among 100 vegetable, fruit, fish and meat sellers at the market in front of PWD Office. Besides, fruits were distributed among 20 pregnant women and mothers of new born babies at North District Hospital. 

Besides, mask sanitizer bottles were distributed among labourers who are busy in construction of COVID-19 Centre and four Isolation centres at Dharmanagar District Hospital.  On the occasion two meritorious students of Dharmanagar Tanmoy Nath and Surup Chakraborty were felicitated.