Tripura Govt honours eminent personalities on Statehood Day

Agartala, Jan 21, 2021, ENEWSTIME Desk

For the first time in the history of Tripura, the government has honoured eminent personalities with multiple civic awards on the Statehood Day for their exemplary contributions in various fields.


While Olympian Gymnast Dipa Karmakar was honoured with state’s highest civilian award- Tripura Bibhusan, chess prodigy and little wonder Arshiya Das was given the ‘Tripura Bhusan Samman’.


The awards were handed over by Governor Ramesh Bais and Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb respectively during the celebration of Tripura Statehood Day at Rabindra Satabarshiki Bhavan on Thursday.


Tripura-Statehood-Day-AwardMeanwhile, the best academician award was conferred upon Prashanta Sen, Teacher of Sarasima Higher Secondary School of Belonia, for his remarkable contribution in the field of Education. After accepting the award which also carried a cheque of Rs 20,000, Sen donated the entire amount to the Chief Minister’s Relief Fund. Prashanta Sen, the GT Pure Science, known for his commitment in discharging his professional duties in schools, is also relentlessly working among under privileged students. His unselfish efforts in educating underprivileged section have already own hearts of many people.


Among the other eminent personalities who received various prestigious awards are- renowned violinist Subal Biswas (Sachin Debbarman Smriti Samman), Dr. Madhavi Debbarma (Maharani Kanchanprava Debi Smriti Samman for her immense contribution in women empowerment and sensitization), Achintya Bhattacharjee (Good Citizen Award) and Dr. Abhinava Kanta (for special contribution to Science and Protection of Environment).


In the meantime, the state government also introduced multiple awards to encourage entrepreneurship development towards the goal of Atmanirbhar Tripura.


The best entrepreneurship award was given to 'Cakes and Buns Delight' while the award for contribution to Agriculture and Horticulture was given to Rupak Chowdhury. There was also an award for pisciculture given to Suman Rudrapaul while Swapan Debnath had received another award for animal husbandry while Debabrata Das was conferred the rural industry award.


The award for industry and entrepreneurship was given to Tirthamayee Aluminium Products and the award for best co-operative society was given to by 'Singicherra PACS limited’.


In the award distribution ceremony, the members of the state cabinet, Chief Secretary, Director General of Police and other officials were also present.