Enewstime News Images
Tripura News Briefcase

Tripura: State-level 3-day Biju Mela and Utsav to start in Agartala on April 13

The State-level Biju Mela and Utsav in Tripura will begin on April 13 and will come to an end on April 15 next. The three-day event will be organized at Swami Vivekananda Maidan in Agartala. In the Mela and Utsav, total 30 stalls including stalls depicting the traditional culture of the Chakma community will be set up. Replicas of two ‘Jhum Ghar’ will also be constructed in the Mela. There will be three stages for holding cultural programmes.  

To ensure the smooth conduct of the event, a preparatory meeting was held at the West District DM’s conference Hall on Tuesday (March 21).

In the meeting, Industry and Commerce department Minister Santana Chakma presided over and among others, Deputy Mayor of the Agartala Municipal Corporation, Manika Das Datta, Chairman of Biju Mela Development Society and MLA Shambhu Lal Chakma, MDC of TTAADC Bimal Chakmain-Charge DM of the West District Tarit Kanti Chakma, secretary of Fire Service and Food Department Tushar Kanti Chakma, Rajya Karbari of Tripura Rajya Chakma Samajik Parishad Debajon Chakma and officials of other departments were present in the meeting today.

Minister Santana Chakma said, the special feature and tradition of our State is that the State aims at the development of the culture and customs of smaller ethnic communities. Biju Utsav is one of the traditional events conducted for nurturing the traditional heritage.  She also said speedy development of the culture and customs of ethnic communities is essential to materialize the ‘Ek Tripura, Shrestha Tripura’.

The Minister urged all concerned officials to cooperate for the successful conduct of the three-day event.

An advisory Committee was formed under the chairmanship of Food Minister Sushanta Chowdhury. Mayor of the Agartala Municipal Corporation, Dipak Majumder is the Convener while Deputy Mayor of the AMC Manika Das Datta is the joint convener of the advisory committee.

Besides, a 15-member executive committee was formed. Minister Santana Chakma is the chairperson of the executive committee.

You can share this post!