Tripura : Three elected members of State Assembly take oath

Agartala, Jun 28, 2022, ENEWSTIME Desk

Three newly elected candidates - Malina Debnath, Swapna Das Paul ( both from BJP) and Sudip Roy Barman of Congress - took oath as the member of Tripura Legislative Assembly on Tuesday. 


Tripura-Assembly-elected-oathSpeaker of Tripura Assembly Ratan Chakraborty administered the oath to them.


However, newly elected BJP candidate and Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha, also a Rajya Sabha MP from Tripura, did not take oath today.


Dr Saha and three others were elected in the By-polls to four Assembly Constituencies held on June 23 last. The results of the By-polls were announced on June 26 last. Among the four seats, BJP won in three while Congress won in one seat. Other parties including CPM drew a blank.


Sudip-roy-barman-takes-oath-tripuraMalina Debnath of BJP was elected from Jubarajnagar Assembly constituency in North Tripura. She wrested the seat from CPM which held the seat for the last 29 years.


Swapna Dad Paul of BJP was elected from Surma constuency in the By-poll. This seat fell vacant after BJP's Asish Das quit the party to join TMC was disqualified under Anti defection Act. BJP candidate Das Paul emerged victorious after defeating Tipra Motha.


Sudip Roy Barman who won in 2018 Assembly election from Agartala seat on a BJP ticket quit the party and MLAship to join Congress. In June 23 by-polls, Roy Barman contested from the Agartala seat and won.


Like Roy Barman, Asish Saha also quit the BJP and his MLAship from Town Bordowali seat. Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha of BJP won the Bordowali defeating Asish Saha.


Dr Manik Saha was also elected as Rajya Sabha MP from Tripura. 


Speaking to the media, Assembly speaker Ratan Chakraborty said, Dr Saha will have to resign from one of the two elected positions - MP of RS and MLA - as per the Parliamentary law, within 14 days from date of poll results were announced.


Dr Saha will take oath accordingly later on, Chakraborty said.


Meanwhile, Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha, other members of the state cabinet, MLAs and eminent persons were present in the swearing in ceremony.