By-polls in Tripura: Campaigning to end at 5pm on June 21

Enewstime News Images

Agartala, Jun 21, 2022, ENEWSTIME Desk

The rain-marred campaign for by-polls in the four Assembly Constituencies in Tripura will come to an end at 5 pm on Tuesday (June 21). The by-polls will start from 7am and continue till 5 pm on June 23. By-polls will be held at 6-Agartala, 8-Town Bordowali (both in West Tripura District), 46-Surma (in Dhalai District) and 57-Jubarajnagar (in North Tripura district) Assembly seats.


|Also Read: BJP rolls out star studded Padayatra in support of Manik, Ashok |


As many as 22 candidates are in fray for the by-polls in the four Assembly constituencies. Out of this six candidates each in 6-Agartala and 8-Town Bordowali seats are locked into poll battle whereas five candidates each in 46-Surma and 57-Jubarajnagar are in the poll contest.


| Also Read : Following 'attack' on Sudip, Tripura Pradesh Cong meets CEO |


Meantime, poll personnel for the 6-Agartala and 8-Town Bordowali seats underwent training at Rabindra Satabarshiki Bhawan on Monday. Returning Officer Asim Saha said there are 111 polling centers in 6-Agartala and 8- Town Bordowali Assembly seats.


| Also Read : Sudip not attacked, it's a drama politics, says Tripura ICA Minister |


Amidst intermittent, often incessant rains marred the spirit of campaign in to some extent. However, braving the inclement weather, candidates, leaders and supporters were busy in conducting poll campaigns through multi-mode channels.


| Also Read : Tripura needs real change, Cast votes for TMC only: Abhishek |


Road shows, rallies, door-to-door campaign, street corners, campaign through mobile Public Address (PA) communication, holding regular press conferences and of course, social media activities were part of the campaign. Trinamool Congress and BJP star campaigners held poll meetings and public rallies in the four constituencies. Leftists relied on the Opposition leader Manik Sarkar and other local leaders. Even as Congress announced names of some of their star campaigners like Azharuddin, Alaka Lamba – but none of them turned up.


All eyes shall remain focused on 8-Town Bordowali as Tripura Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha is contesting the by-poll from this constituency. DR Saha is locked in a poll battle with Congress candidate Asish Kumar Saha – who became MLA from this seat on BJP Ticket in 2018 Assembly Polls, only to resign from the MLAship and party in early 2022.    


The outcome of the 6-Agartala seat is also crucial – especially, for former BJP MLA (Like Asish Saha), Sudip Roy Barman who is contesting this time on a Congress ticket.


Two other seats – Surma and Jubarajnagar – are also set to witness keenly contested poll battles.