Terror of 'Lal' Motha goons across Surma, says Rebati; TMC blames BJP for 'silent terrorism' in Jubarajnagar

Enewstime News Images

Agartala, Jun 23, 2022, ENEWSTIME Desk

Lal-Motha-Tripura-Surma-By-pollsTerror of ‘Lal’ Motha goons across the Surma Assembly, tweeted Tripura MP Rebati Tripura referring to violence in 46-Surma Assembly during by-polls on Thursday (June 23, 2022).


By 'Lal' Motha, he seemed to make an oblique referrence to CPM supporters who became Tipra Motha supporters.


Meantime, BJP state unit vice-president Rajib Bhattacharjee informed the media that six BJP karyakartas were injured after being attacked at the last moment of voting in Surma constituency.


Clashes broke out between the Tipra Motha and ruling BJP at Maharanipur, booth no. 43 under the Surma Assembly at around 4 pm.


| Also Read : Tripura by-polls remain largely peaceful: 78.58 pc turnout recorded |


Motilal Debbarma, a Janajati leader of BJP, was injured in the attack and is presently undergoing treatment at Dhalai District Hospital.


Besides, security personnel charged baton to disperse crowd after getting the news of the obstruction of voters by the youths outside Booth No. 59 and 60 of the assembly at Daluchhara SB School.


Despite the political tension, the 46-Surma Assembly constituency recorded 83.11 percent turnout on Thursday.


| Also Read : TMC blames BJP for resorting to terror tactics |


Meantime, 57-Jubarajnagar Assembly under North Tripura registered the highest turnout among the four constituencies in which by-polls were held on Thursday – total 83.12 pc votes were cast.


However, the TMC leaders alleged ruling party unleashed ‘silent terrorism’ in Jubarajnagar. The TMC leaders, while addressing a press meet in Dharmanagar also alleged EVMs at Ramnagar, Bilthai and Uptakhali tehsil Kachari areas mal-functioned affecting the polling for 1 to 2 hours.


TMC candidate Mrinal Kanti Nath alleged the agents were forcibly evicted from the booths and somewhere the agents could not go to the polling station for fear of their lives.


State Trinamool Congress general secretary Baptu Chakraborty, TMC candidate of Jubarajnagar Dr Mrinal Kanti Nath, North District Trinamool Congress president Abdul Basit Khan and others were present in the press briefing.