Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb resigns (Updated)

Agartala, May 14, 2022, ENEWSTIME Desk

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb resigned from his post on Saturday less than a year before Assembly Polls in the State. 


Accompanied by Union Minister Bhupender Yadav, Deb went to the Raj Bhavan on Saturday afternoon and submitted his resignation to Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya.


As the incumbent Chief Minister resigns the ministry will thus stand dissolved. However, it will be the new Chief Minister who will decide whether he will go ahead with the same cabinet or will make some changes.

Deb became the Chief Minister on March 9, 2018 after the BJP-led alliance came to power by defeating the Left Front in the Assembly elections.


In a social media post, Biplab Kumar Deb wrote, "I thank Central leadership & people of Tripura for giving me the responsibility to serve Tripura as a Chief Minister. I have wholeheartedly served my State & will always work for the betterment of my State. Tripura shall definitely march ahead in the path of devt. Jai Hind."


Deb who visited party president JP Nadda and Home Minister Amit Shah for the last two days returned to Agartala this morning.


Speaking to the media, Deb said State Assembly polls are ensuing, so it is necessary to prepare and strengthen the organization for the upcoming 2023 election. The party wanted him to devote more time to the organization to ensure the BJP government after the 2023 polls. 


"The Party thought people like me would be able to prepare the organization more effectively for the victory in Assembly polls", Deb commented and added every activity has a specific type and tenure in the party - no matter whether I have been entrusted with the task of a Chief Minister or a Pristha Pramukh.


Deb also pointed out that he was given the charge of the party before the 2018 State Assembly Polls and worked under the guidance of the Prime Minister and the incumbent Home Minister to deliver justice and ensure the overall development of Tripura both as the state party president and Chief Minister.


A crucial meeting is scheduled today evening in presence of the central leaders and it is expected that name of the new Chief Minister would be announced after the meeting.


Meantime, informed sources said either incumbent State BJP president and Rajya Sabha MP Dr Manik Saha or Union MoS Pratima Bhoumik may be the new Chief Minister.